The Public Works Department execute the construction, improvement, strengthening and maintenance of roads and bridges. The responsibility of construction of certain buildings of the state government and their maintenance is also upon this department. The department undertakes the maintenance of National Highways passing through Uttar Pradesh which are not covered by the National Highways Authority for which funds are provided by the Government of India. The task of monitoring the works under different schemes and ensuring high quality of work has been assigned to 18 zonal Chief Engineers.

The state, geographically and in terms of population, is the country’s largest state. For the State's industrial, economic and social development it is essential to connect each village and its population with the main roads. Besides, the widening and high-quality repair of important National Highways, state roads and district roads is also important for transportation. The P.W.D. is executing the work of construction and improvement of link roads in rural areas, widening and improvement of other district roads, main district roads and state roads, construction of bridges in rural areas and repair of narrow and damaged bridges on main routes on a priority basis. In addition, it is also doing the work of construction of link roads in rural areas under Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana and strengthening of previously-built rural and other roads.

For successful operation of various schemes by PWD, offices of Superintending Engineers in different districts and Chief Engineers in Commissionaires are established. They execute effective monitoring on the works by removing the hurdles in planning, execution, quality control etc. For this the following posts of zonal chief Engineers and incharge chief engineers have been created:

S. NoZoneZonal headquartersDistricts under the Zone
1. Agra Agra Agra,Firozabad,Mathura,Mainpuri
2. Prayagraj Prayagraj Prayagraj,Kaushambi,Pratapgarh,Fatehpur
3. Aligarh Zone Aligarh Zone Aligarh,Hathras,Kasganj,Etah
4. Azamgarh Azamgarh Ballia,Mau,Azamgarh,Jaunpur
5. Bareilly Bareilly Bareilly,Budaun,Pilibhit,Shahjahanpur
6. Basti Basti Basti,Sant Kabir Nagar,Siddharth nagar
7. Chitrakoot Zone Chitrakoot Zone Banda,Chitrakoot,Mahoba,Hamirpur
8. Devipatan Zone Devipatan Zone Barabanki,Bahraich,Shravasti,Balrampur,Gonda
9. Ayodhya Ayodhya Ayodhya,Sultanpur,Ambedkar Nagar,Amethi
10. Gorakhpur Gorakhpur Gorakhpur,Kushinagar,Maharajganj,Deoria
11. Jhansi Jhansi Jhansi,Lalitpur,Jalon
12. Kanpur Kanpur Etawah,Kanpur Nagar,Kannauj,Farrukhabad,Auraiya,Kanpur Dehat
13. Lucknow Lucknow Hardoi,Raebareli,Sitapur,Unnao,Lakhimpur,Lucknow 
14. Meerut Meerut Meerut,Bulandshahr,Baghpat,Hapur,Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar
15. Mirzapur Mirzapur Mirzapur,Sant Ravidas Nagar (Bhadohi),Sonbhadra
16. Moradabad Moradabad Moradabad,Bijnor,Rampur,Sambhal,Amroha (J.P. Nagar)
17. Saharanpur Saharanpur Saharanpur,Shamli,Muzaffarnagar
18. Varanasi Varanasi Varanasi,Chanduli,Ghazipur
19. National Highway Lucknow All Commissionaires
20. Externally Aided Project Lucknow All Commissionaires 
20. Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana Lucknow, Allahabad, Meerut All Commissionaires 
21. Bridges Lucknow Construction of the Bridges under UDPWD
22. Indo Nepal border Lucknow Lucknow, Bareilly,
Faizabad, Devipatan, Basti and Gorakhpur
23. Buildings Lucknow All Commissionaires 

Corporations and authorities working under the U.P. Public Works Department:

The following corporations and authorities have been established for construction of bridges, buildings and repair and maintenance of roads under PPP mode:

UP State Bridge Corporation:

The corporation was established in 1973 to accelerate the construction of bridges in the state. Under various schemes approved by the state government, this corporation undertakes construction of bridges of a span of more than 60 meters. Click here to read more

U.P. Rajkiya Nirman Nigam Ltd:

This corporation was set up in 1975 for using modern construction techniques and to accelerate building construction activity. In financial year 2015-16 the target of this corporation is Rs 4200.00 crore. Click here to read more

U.P. State Highway Authority:

This Authority was set up in 2004-05 for development of state roads with private support. Its objective is to undertake construction of roads and bridges on BOT /PPP basis. At present work is being done on 3 state highways in contract with private developers and RFP for one State Highway has been invited on 15.01.2015. In addition, consultant selection is underway for feasibility study of upgradation/maintenance of 14 key State highways / major / other district roads with public-private-partnership.Click here to read more


The Public Works Department undertakes the work of construction, repair, strengthening and maintenance of roads, buildings and bridges in the state. For managing the work of the department, the office of the Engineer-in-Chief (Development) and Head of the Department is established at the state level, under which the the following posts are established at different levels:

  1. Engineer-in-Chief :
    •  Engineer-in-Chief (Development) and Head of Department
    • Engineer-in-Chief(Design and Planning)
    • Engineer-in-Chief(Rural Roads)
  2. Chief Engineer (Level 1): 3 posts
  3. Chief Engineer (Level-2): Chief Engineer (National Highways), Chief Engineer Bridges/(HQ-1)/(HQ-2),Chief Engineer Indo-Nepal border ,Chief Engineer PMGSY , 18 Zonal Chief Engineers, Chief Engineer Complaints, Chief Engineer (Electrical/Mechanical) and Chief Architect equivalent to Chief Engineer Level 2.

Division is the unit of the department. Generally there are 1 to 4 divisions in each district. The number of divisions depends on the nature and magnitude of work. The organizational structure of PWD is shown in appendix A, B, C, and D.

In the last three years the position of divisions and circles under the PWD is as follows:

Types of divisions & circles2018-19
Maintenance of the plain roads 173 32
National Highways 18 5
World Bank / electrical / mechanical / P.M.G.S.Y./ Indo-Nepal border 81 22
TOTAL :- 272 59
Types of divisions & circles2018-19
Survey, planning, project, bridge
Traffic, National Highways
21 05
Research, World Bank work/ technical cell, IDS Samagra, Computers, E/M, PMGSY, Court Case 20 06
TOTAL :- 41 11